• More Her Speed
  • Posts
  • 🏃‍♀️ Work-Life Balance, D1 testing, and being prepared

🏃‍♀️ Work-Life Balance, D1 testing, and being prepared

Work Life Balance

Welcome back y’all, I hope everyone had a good memorial holiday. The last few years we’ve had camps and travel events on Memorial Day but we stayed local this year and spent time with family. I’m still trying to figure out the work-life balance, but I have made it to most of my loved ones birthdays this year so.. A WIN IS A WIN.

I did however help one of my college-commit soccer players go through her summer fitness test and MAN, if I had to do this right now I’d nearly lose my life lol. She had to do:

800m < 3 min 5 sec

4 x 44m sprints < 8s ea

400m < 1 min 25 sec

4 x 44m sprints < 8s ea

800m < 3 min 10 sec

Now, of course there were appropriate rests in between but she was able to complete the test with passing times, and even some to spare. Summer programs going into your first year at a D1 program are no joke- but I feel confident sending her off knowing she’s well prepared.

Being prepared

This week (Wednesday) I have my monthly More Her Speed webinar with a basketball performance coach so I have been spending some time researching different podcast hosts and their approach. The webinars aren’t exactly podcast style, as I usually have the guest present while other members are tuned in, but it’s so helpful to watch others’ interactions with their guests. One thing I have taken away from the best episodes I’ve seen is their knowledge of the guest and their lane.

Working in the performance industry makes it a lot easier to relate to my webinar guests, but making sure I know the topic and the background of what they go through in their presentation is key. Since the webinar is live, there isn’t a whole lot of back-and-forth until the end but one of my biggest strengths is knowing my audience and letting an organic conversation flow.

The webinars have been such a dope way for me to connect with other coaches, but also showcase the guests and put other coaches on. That has been my goal since day one.. Be good at something, share the knowledge, and educate others. I’ve got big dreams and I want to bring everyone with me!

If you are not a member and are interested in the webinar with Coach Jess Racz, sign up below to gain access to the webinar and platform of all female coaches:

Hope to see everyone there!

Quote of the week

“Just believe in yourself. Even if you don’t pretend that you do, and some point, you will.”Venus Williams

Appreciate y’all,

Cici

See you again next week!

In the meantime, here are 3 ways you can stay tapped in:

1. Get access to more free game here.

2. Join a group of badass women in the More Her Speed Membership here.

Click the link below to apply 20% off your order with code CICIMURRAY. I’m telling y’all, it has literally changed the tone for my day.