🏃‍♀️ My visit to the Philadelphia Eagles

Eagles visit, educational resource, + more

What’s up y’all? Cici here.

Welcome back to More Her Speed, a weekly no-BS newsletter all about women in coaching.

Fly Eagles Fly!

Well, I wouldn’t necessarily say I’m an Eagles fan now…

But PHILLY EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS, BY A LOT.

Last week I was able to travel to Philadelphia and check out the Eagles facility and meet with the staff over there.

They have an amazing performance staff, including fellow More Her Speed member Autumn Lockwood… who I am forever grateful for!

Everything ran so smoothly… the weight room layout, the meetings and schedule, just ALL of it.

There’s a reason why they’re one of the best teams in the NFL.

Culture matters in an organization.

Most importantly, I again got to spend quality time with Les. We spent time with his family and friends that I have met through work. That right there is invaluable.

Thigh Angular Velocity

Speaking of invaluable… a big educational resource for me if I'm looking for information is ResearchGate.

If I want to find an article or study on anything sprint or sport related I’ll type some key words into ResearchGate and get educated on exactly what I’m looking for.

Ken Clark and Christopher Meng have a great article that can be found on ResearchGate.

It’s a great foundational piece on why we use thigh angular velocity as a key kinematic and the relationship between this motion and running speed.

The study showed that thigh angular motion was strongly correlated with running speed across the subjects and their top speeds.

It proved that athletes ran faster by increasing the frequency and amplitude of this motion, which resulted in an increase in thigh angular velocity.

The article goes in depth about how fast and how far the thigh travels, and how that is linearly related to ground contacts and velocity at touchdown.

This is proven by kinematics and why doing kinematic profiles for high level athletes is important because it gives you a stronger understanding of where in the run the deficiencies lie… so you can understand how to manipulate them.

As we all know, Ken Clark is a genius and certainly at the top of the list of resources when it comes to biomechanics and sprint research.

Great read for anyone looking to get more insight on the kinematic side of sprinting.

Quote of the week

“I respect this grind, I respect the process, and I respect what it takes to be great.”

– Jalen Hurts

Appreciate y’all,

Cici

See you again next week!

In the meantime, here are 3 ways you can stay tapped in:

1. Get access to more free game here.

2. Join a group of badass women here.