Trust the process and what's the deal with 7v7?

Trust the Process!

This past week I wrapped up Phase 1 of NFL Offseason and my guys are now off to OTA’s until end of June.

It still feels surreal sometimes when I look back at my trajectory from just getting started and not having my footing and just trying to provide the most value whatever that meant- to leading NFL players on my own. It seems normal to me now, but if I told myself 5 or 6 years ago that this is how my path would go I would be surprised.

Not because I don’t think I'm capable or haven’t put in the work to be here, but just because when I got started I didn’t know who was and wasn’t going to accept me and believe in me and give me a chance.

I recently found a journal that I frequently wrote in late 2020-2021 and wow, what a difference even from then to now. I try not to get too personal in my newsletters- but that would be a disservice.

In 2020-2021, I was going through a very unhealthy relationship and some very rough times in my life… Almost every entry, every day, was sad. I flipped every page and thought to myself “Wow, this is really dark.” And though that was my reality at the time, it was hard to read those pages and think about my mindset at that time.

I mention this only because the last page that had writing on it was a list of things I wanted to accomplish and small things that I enjoyed and wanted to do more of. It was goals, things to do less of, and things to do more of.

And it doesn’t seem that long ago, but as I was reading the list, I was able to check off almost every single one of them. I accomplished my goal of moving out of a place that made me feel unsafe. I left relationships that didn’t serve me, I created a brand, I have laughed more and read more and worked out more and appreciated my family more.

I’m not half way to where I want to be, but being able to confidently read that list and know that I did what I told myself I was going to do has built so much trust in myself and where I’m headed.

My thoughts on 7v7

We’ve currently been a part of the Pylon 7v7 organization and traveling with the team to different major locations every weekend and hosting a speed section at their camps.

Now, coming from someone who has personally coached 7v7- it is definitely a culture, and a controversial one at that.

Even when I was coaching, I wanted to be clear that we didn’t want athletes to completely prioritize 7v7 over their high school program. Because though it is great competition and prep, it is very close to Spring Ball and their high school season, and no ones giving out scholarships for 7 on 7, so we don’t want anyone getting hurt or making poor decisions right before season.

Which brings me to a tweet I came across that said “I know it's just 7v7 but…” and everyone in the comments proceeded to either defend how important 7v7 is or completely rip it to shreds.

I lie somewhere in the middle. I think that it's hard for kids to go from full tackle, to two-hand touch, back to full tackle and know how to safely go between the two. You take a bunch of high school boys and put them on the field together to compete and there is bound to be some good plays, but also some irresponsible ones.

Respectfully, no one is getting recruited strictly off 7v7, but you cannot just show up and only be there to have fun- the kids are going to compete, rightfully so.

I think there needs to be a balance, not only between athletes, but coaches as well. Everybody eats!

Quote of the week

“Our greatest weakness lies in giving up. The most certain way to succeed is to try just one more time.” – Thomas Edison

Appreciate y’all,

Cici

See you again next week!

In the meantime, here are 3 ways you can stay tapped in:

1. Get access to more free game here.

2. Join a group of badass women here.

Click the link below to apply 20% off your order with code CICIMURRAY. I’m telling y’all, it has literally changed the tone for my day.