• More Her Speed
  • Posts
  • 🏃‍♀️ School vs. Experience - which matters more?

🏃‍♀️ School vs. Experience - which matters more?

College talk, female spotlight, + more

What’s up y’all? Cici here.

Welcome back to More Her Speed, a weekly no-BS newsletter all about women in coaching.

There’s a ton of ways to get from A to B

Back at it again this week with another dope question from one of y’all. 

Before we jump into that.. I wanted to remind y'all...

We launched the first EVER More Her Speed course last week, the Power of Jumping. The support has been wild... tap in NOW if you haven't already!

Anyways... this Q&A has been fun for me, so feel free to send anything you’ve got to my instagram or twitter.

Q: More important for this industry: education or real world experience?

A: I absolutely LOVE this question. Experience and networking can often take you further than degrees can, but I also think education played a huge part in my success to this point. You always hear people saying “School isn’t for everyone.” But it was for me. My education from Cal State Fullerton gave me a really hands-on and applicable educational background, so that when I got to those real-world experiences, I actually felt prepared.

I often feel like some college programs don’t accurately reflect what we actually experience after we graduate. But I actually took lots of on-field and proactive classes and for that I’m grateful. 

Kinesiology was a very unit-heavy major. I originally thought I was going to land in PT.. But when I knew I belonged in Sports Performance, I was glad my classes were reflective of what I ended up in. 

College taught me A LOT, most of that being how to do my own research and have a solid foundation for argument, lol. But my education at CSUF was an amazing experience and I wouldn't go back and change it if I could.

Female Spotlight of the Week

This week I would like to highlight someone who I recently became introduced to, but am impressed with her work on the sports science side of things. 

I think sports scientists can often get overlooked, but they play such a huge role in performance and I would love to highlight one lady doing her thing. We see you Karah!

Karah Bell earned her Master’s Degree in Sport and Athletic Administration at Gonzaga University, where she was a Graduate Assistant Strength and Conditioning Coach. 

She had primary oversight of the Men’s and Women’s Cross Country and Track & Field programs, and secondary assistant of 12 other programs including the Men’s and Women’s Soccer, Baseball, Volleyball, Men’s and Women’s Tennis programs, etc.

Before joining the Zags at GU, Bell completed S & C internships with University of North Carolina Chapel Hill and the University of Illinois Springfield working primarily with Olympic sports.

Karah has most recently landed at the University of Louisville as the Director of Basketball Innovation in September of 2022. She serves as the Assistant Strength and Conditioning Coach and Applied Performance Scientist for the Men’s Basketball program.

She hopes to drive innovation with the weight room and co op some great new additions to the diagnostic side of performance and I think she’s someone we can all learn a little from! 

Quote of the Week

“It's not about what you're capable of, It's about what you're willing to do.”

-Mike Tomlin

Appreciate y’all,

Cici

See you again next week!

In the meantime, here are 3 ways you can stay tapped in:

1. Get access to more free game here.

2. Join a group of badass women here.