• More Her Speed
  • Posts
  • 🏃‍♀️ Relationships matter... they really really matter

🏃‍♀️ Relationships matter... they really really matter

I love Speed Labs

Welcome back y’all, it’s been an exciting and hectic last couple of weeks as we continue to bring on new groups of Speed Labs. I know I’ve touched on it before- but for anyone unfamiliar we partner with a new group of performance facilities across the country every month to onboard and equip them with our assessment and programming systems.

I head the backend and data aspect of this side of the business and it has been so dope to build connections with different facility owners and professionals in the space that are passionate about speed and focused on bettering the athletes they service.

For any of our current Speed Labs that are reading this I LOVE Y’ALL! Let’s keep growing!

Relationships MATTER

This week I also had a really great conversation with Mr. Les Spellman about what started as an educational discussion and how we can continue to grow as a company- but ended up coming down to how we build relationships with our athletes and with other coaches.

If you’ve been reading this newsletter as long as I’ve been putting it out you know how big I am on relationship building and how important I feel that is to our success as a coach. But when I was talking to Les about my relationships he kept asking me “Why?”

This wasn’t to be taken with offense because he would argue that’s probably my best skill, but he kept asking “Why do you have such a great relationship with this athlete?” “Why do these seasoned NFL players come to YOU in the off-season?” “How do you get them to trust you?”

And at first, I wasn’t sure. I always think that that piece just comes naturally to me and the relationship just grows organically, but when I had to sit and think about it I thought back to all of the athletes I have worked with and how we got to that stage. And it’s been different with all of them. It came after a week with some and after 3 off-seasons with another. Some of my athletes call me to tell me about their workout that day to get my feedback, and some just call me to show me their new tattoo. Whatever the case is, knowing an athlete trusts you is a good feeling.

And even more importantly with coaches. There’s a lot of politics in the sport and training world so having support for AND from other coaches is huge. There are so many coaches in all different areas that I have so much respect for and that I could call or message if I had any questions and vise versa, and I think that network is so important.

As always- I am open and able to any messages, questions, feedback, etc. from anyone and if I can help in any way that brings me fulfillment. Everybody eats.

Quote of the week

“Aspire to be authentic” - Yann Martel

Appreciate y’all,

Cici

See you again next week!

In the meantime, here are 3 ways you can stay tapped in:

1. Get access to more free game here.

2. Join a group of badass women in the More Her Speed Membership here.

Click the link below to apply 20% off your order with code CICIMURRAY. I’m telling y’all, it has literally changed the tone for my day.