• More Her Speed
  • Posts
  • 🏃‍♀️ Programming differences for different types of groups

🏃‍♀️ Programming differences for different types of groups

Let’s Connect!

Welcome back y’all, I just want to reiterate how grateful I am for everyone who taps in to this every week and I am ALWAYS open for connecting outside of this newsletter as well. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to me here or via Instagram, Twitter, etc. I love hearing from you guys and hearing your stories and answering any questions so my inbox is always open!

Programming based on different groups

Speaking on answering questions, a recent podcast I was a guest on just dropped and I got a lot of really great feedback.

I was asked to be a guest on the Inform Performance podcast where I discussed my journey and my struggles, but also touched on some educational pieces as well.

I was able to talk through a lot of technical vs physical issues, as well as assessment and monitoring. I feel like this is a question I get a lot and if you haven’t listened to the podcast I figured I would share some of that here.

Depending on the athlete or group, the goal may change. That doesn’t mean the work will change or that one group is any less important than another, but the way I approach programming and assessing a group of NFL Draft prospects that I only have for eight weeks is going to be different from how I attack a group of youth athletes that I’m working with for an entire school year or sport season.

Questions that I ask myself include what is my goal? What are their goals? How much time/equipment do I have access to? And most importantly, what do I have the capability to actually manipulate within this time frame?

This will change the technical drilling and programming of the sessions dependent on what performance indicator I want to focus on. I mention in the podcast that you can’t attack a handful of technical aspects in one session as it will just be an overload of stimulus for the athlete and generally elicit a negative response.

Individualizing programming based on metrics and loads we get from assessments influence our training prescriptions and will dictate some of the calls we make when mapping out our sessions.

I go in depth on these topics in the podcast, so if you’re interested in checking it out you can find it here: https://informperformance.com/2023/06/06/cici-murray-technical-v-physical-qualities-in-sprinters-spellman-performance-coach-more-her-speed-founder/ or on any of the major podcast streaming apps!

Quote of the week

“A year from now you may wish you had started today.” — Karen Lamb

Appreciate y’all,

Cici

See you again next week!

In the meantime, here are 3 ways you can stay tapped in:

1. Get access to more free game here.

2. Join a group of badass women in the More Her Speed Membership here.

Click the link below to apply 20% off your order with code CICIMURRAY. I’m telling y’all, it has literally changed the tone for my day.