• More Her Speed
  • Posts
  • 🏃‍♀️ Optimize morning routine, creating competition in training

🏃‍♀️ Optimize morning routine, creating competition in training

My morning routine

I know I’ve talked about morning routines before, which I still take very seriously and have been gradually adding more into.

Before my coffee, I have recently incorporated L-Glutamine on an empty stomach. For anyone that deals with gut issues or inconsistencies, this has been working great for me. I add one scoop of L-Glutamine to a half cup of aloe vera juice (it is not as good as it sounds) and have noticed way less bloating throughout the day.

Especially on days when I’m not exactly sure when my first meal is going to be, I noticed an even more enticing factor to my morning coffee- 15G F****** GRAMS OF PROTEIN.

I’ve been drinking STRONG Coffee for a few months now and refuse to go back to any other coffee because of the MCT Oil and Collagen that it has in it, but when I turned over the little instant packet the other day I realized it also has a significant serving of protein.

Coffee became a placebo for me and I was mostly just drinking it for the vibe- but since I started on this STRONG Coffee kick I literally just order a cup of hot water at Starbucks and sneak my instant coffee pack into it. No anxiety, no crash, just feel-good energy.

I tell everyone in my life about it so might as well share it with you guys too!

Click the link below to apply 20% off your order with code CICIMURRAY. I’m telling y’all, it has literally changed the tone of my day.

Gamify your training

Our community of Speed Labs had an amazing webinar with speed coach Tony Holler last week and he dropped some major gems.

The Speed Labs do a bi-weekly call to catch up on pain points and successes, as well as having some guest speakers talk about industry topics and any questions that they have regarding training, programming, and more.

Last week, Tony touched on what it looks like to gamify your training, which we have shared a lot about and really agree with that philosophy.

He talked about making training sessions performance-level workouts and actually attaching numbers to those performances. Timing your athletes and keeping score not only gives them a competition factor but gives you insight to where the athletes are at and be able to manage the load.

As coaches, our number one goal is “DO NO HARM.” Everything we do should not be aimed at how hard the workout can be- it should be about keeping the athlete healthy and performing at their highest level.

He talked about how you can take a 60-minute session, do only about 60 total seconds of maximal work, and have it be a higher quality workout than one where it is non-stop GO.

Tony shared some great knowledge and has an amazing Youtube channel as well as a number of different articles and resources that we can all take away from. FEED THE CATS!

If you are interested in becoming a USR Speed Lab and joining an amazing community of coaches across the country, please visit https://train.universalspeedrating.com/acceleratorprogram

Quote of the week

“Here’s how I’m going to beat you. I’m going to outwork you. That’s it. That’s all there is to it.” —Pat Summitt

Appreciate y’all,

Cici

See you again next week!

In the meantime, here are 3 ways you can stay tapped in:

1. Get access to more free game here.

2. Join a group of badass women here.