• More Her Speed
  • Posts
  • 🏃‍♀️ NFL offseason, wow Niele Ivey, and 3 speed misconceptions

🏃‍♀️ NFL offseason, wow Niele Ivey, and 3 speed misconceptions

If you’re receiving this email, it means you opted to join a community that has one goal… PUTTING WOMEN ON IN SPORTS PERFORMANCE.

My goal here is to provide some insight into what I do & what I’m working on, and share with y’all the resources and systems that help me build on my progress and make my way in this field.

This is my first time putting out a newsletter so I am open to any and all feedback!

What I'm working on

This is an insanely busy time for me as we finish up our last phase of NFL offseason before the guys head off to mini-camp.

Our focus during training has been on a lot of multidirectional plyos and elevated vectors

One recent adjustment is we have always had a change-of-direction incorporated day, but as the guys get closer to mini-camp we want to be sure we are exposing them to more in-game type scenarios.

You can run fast in training, but when it’s time to put on the pads and turn up the pressure, can you still reach that same speed?

One training tip is we use GPS (what is GPS) on every athlete daily to track max speed, the total distance covered in a session, and other key metrics for a specific run or drill.

3 speed training misconceptions

I always want to be as raw and transparent as possible, so I tend to gravitate toward content that I feel represents those same values.

For this reason, I love PODCASTS.

This past week I was on the Athlete Ready Global podcast and was asked a great question...

What are some misconceptions people have about speed training?

There are A TON, but the three most common ones I hear are:

  • Speed is (all) genetic

  • Run on your toes

  • Speed training is just conditioning

Listen to the episode to find out the RIGHT way to train speed with your athletes.

WOW Niele Ivey x Jaden Ivey

A few weeks ago was the NBA Draft, and 60 guys had their dreams come true.

Since I specialize in NFL Draft training, I always love watching other pro league drafts and learning about each athlete's journey.

One awesome story was about Jaden Ivey, a guard out of Purdue, who was selected by the Detroit Pistons with the 5th overall pick.

He credits a ton of his love for the game and skills as a guard to his mom, Niele Ivey. Niele Ivey isn’t just Jaden’s mom though....oh no....she is a decorated former WNBA player and current head coach at The University of Notre Dame (!!!)

While being a mother and mentor to her talented son, she climbed the collegiate coaching ranks.

Niele played for Muffet McGraw (pictured above) at Notre Dame, went on to play in the WNBA, and re-entered the Notre Dame basketball family as an assistant. Following McGraw’s retirement in 2020, Ivey was named the head coach of the program.

Niele Ivey serves as a reminder that women can raise a successful family AND balance a demanding career in sports.

I recommend you read more about her story.

Inspiration for the week

Following the launch of this newsletter (something I never imagined I’d be doing), the quote of the week this week comes from music superstar Chris Stapleton.

“Nobody wins afraid of losing”

Put yourselves out there this week, in some capacity. Our wildest dreams are on the other side of our greatest fears.

Appreciate y’all,

Cici