• More Her Speed
  • Posts
  • 🏃‍♀️ NFL Combine Process, max velocity breakdown, + more

🏃‍♀️ NFL Combine Process, max velocity breakdown, + more

What we’re up to in Q1

What’s up y’all? Cici here.

Welcome back to More Her Speed, a weekly no-BS newsletter all about women in coaching.

‘Tis the season

I hope everyone had a great holiday weekend and spent some quality time with loved ones.

I was lucky enough to host my family for Christmas this year. Being able to reciprocate even a fraction of what they gave me growing up was so meaningful for me.

Quality time isn’t something we get back or get often, spend it with the ones who understand what it's like when yours is limited!

As one of my favorite seasons (Christmas) of the year is coming to a close, I’m preparing for another time of year that I REALLY love… NFL Combine prep.

I have definitely alluded to it in the past and referenced certain aspects of it, but I don’t know if I’ve really explained what our team does around this time of year.

Spellman Performance, the company I work at, specializes in multiple areas. We’re a swiss-army knife of a team. But, one of our particular areas of expertise is the process around the NFL Combine experience for an athlete.

2023 NFL Draft prospects will leave their schools over the next few weeks and head out to us, where we’ll train them right up to their combine experience in Indy at the end of February.

There is a ton of value in what we provide, so definitely stay tuned over the next few months to this newsletter… There will be no shortage of free game.

Pumped for the start of 2023!

Call a Spade a Spade

Excuse the language, but I think this is an important tweet concerning true max velocity work.

If we’re discussing a fly run, that usually involves a build up (20-30 yds) into a top speed sprint where the athlete is hitting their max velocity in that given frame.

For example, a fly 10 run can be laid out as a 20 yard build up and a 10 yard fly.

The last 10 yards are measured for top speed either by time (laser) or GPS.

Timed fly runs are effective at gaining perspective into an athlete's baseline MPH, by taking the split time of the fly and dividing it by the fly distance, and then multiplying that number by 2.045 to give us approximate miles per hour.

For example, if an athlete runs a 1.08 10 yard fly, the equation would go as follows:

(10/1.08)*2.045= ~18.93 MPH

To give the athlete a true measure, they need to have enough of a build up in order to hit top speed within that parameter.

So, a 10 yard “build” + 10 yard fly would be less predictive of true top speed because they are likely still accelerating and getting faster through 20 total yards.

This would be a better measure of acceleration in a 20 yard full out sprint. I hope this is helpful, as language can often get misconstrued and become difficult to follow.

Quote of the Week

“Give me six hours to chop down a tree and I will spend the first four sharpening the ax.”

-Abraham Lincoln

Appreciate y’all,

Cici

See you again next week!

In the meantime, here are 3 ways you can stay tapped in:

1. Get access to more free game here.

2. Join a group of badass women here.