• More Her Speed
  • Posts
  • 🏃‍♀️How to monitor wellness & fatigue with your athletes

🏃‍♀️How to monitor wellness & fatigue with your athletes

What am I up to this time of year?

Hey friends! Thank you as always for tuning in and catching up- and hopefully taking something away from these newsletters. It is officially football season as my high schoolers had their first game last week and I went to my first game at SoFi stadium on Sunday

This is the best time of the year- and historically is usually also my slowest time of the year. But I think this year we have really honed into in-season work and how we can best service our athletes when they’re back in school and back in season.

On a different type of football

Additionally, I’d be doing a disservice if I didn’t shout out the new speed course Les has been working on with a few other coaches and soccer pros that you guys should know about.

The Soccer Speed Blueprint is on a pre sale right now for 50% off and it includes access to a webinar with Professional Soccer Consultant Darcy Norman.

If you train any soccer athletes or have a desire too, you can check it out by clicking here!

The webinar is today at 12 pst but if you sign up before it starts you’ll get a recording afterwards and access to the course when it releases in September!

Monitoring wellness and fatigue

Back to American Football- I recently listened to a podcast on the Pacey Performance Podcast which puts out a lot of really great information for us performance professionals.

The guest was Marc Lewis who is the Director of Sports Science for the Houston Texans and shared some really great insight on how they monitor wellness and fatigue, and how that impacts performance and practice.

He touches briefly on how to appropriately store and manage data, but more importantly how he uses the data to help inform decision making around practice and training. I think the biggest takeaway here was knowing the demands of the sport. Especially for me when I don’t exclusively work with one sport- knowing the different positions and how the stimulus changes and how we train that is really important.

He goes into load periodization and acute fatigue and how to gage when fatigue is pre-planned and intended vs time where we need to make sure what we are planning does not interfere.

I have been touching a lot on the sport science side and how to bleed that into some of the lower level programs that I work with because I do think it is a really key factor to successful performance. Sometimes the only problem is resources and availability, but if you can find a way to dose some of that in and have buy-in from the sport coaches it can completely change the program- for the better.

I highly recommend checking out this episode and will hopefully be bringing some more details as I factor this into my current consulting groups.

Quote of the week

“Don’t count the days, make the days count.” — Muhammad Ali

Appreciate y’all,

Cici

See you again next week!

In the meantime, here are 3 ways you can stay tapped in:

1. Get access to more free game here.

2. Join a group of badass women in the More Her Speed Membership here.

Click the link below to apply 20% off your order with code CICIMURRAY. I’m telling y’all, it has literally changed the tone for my day.