• More Her Speed
  • Posts
  • šŸƒā€ā™€ļø Mindset matters & some recent reflections

šŸƒā€ā™€ļø Mindset matters & some recent reflections

Some reflectionsā€¦

Welcome back yā€™all, hope everyone had a good holiday week and thank you guys once again for tapping in every Tuesday- and especially this Tuesday because it's my birthday!

Now I only mention this because reflecting back on the last year is a whirlwind. I feel like the basis of who I am is the same but I feel like a completely different person than I was a year ago. This year has been the most fulfilling year of coaching of my life.

I have built so much more trust in myself, in my athletes, in my program and feel like I finally have built the confidence to feel comfortable and capable of coaching at any level.

This came after YEARS of bad reps. YEARS of losses. YEARS of noā€™s.

As long as one thing I have said in the last year has helped at least one person, Iā€™m ok with the years it took to get to this feeling. I TRULY APPRECIATE YOU GUYS!

Mindset Matters

My educational piece of the week was sparked by something me and Jess Racz covered in our last MHS webinar. She brought up a ā€œD1 or Dieā€ mindset and how that hindered her from potential growth earlier on not only in her athletic career, but professionally as well.

And I think this brings up a great point when dealing with athletes-or even athleteā€™s parents and family who have this vision of a D1 program and if they donā€™t make it D1 then itā€™s everyone elseā€™s fault and they canā€™t continue. Now do I think there are a lot of athletes that might get looked over or slip through the cracks? Sure. Sports deal with a lot of internal politics and itā€™s not always fair.

But just because an athlete doesnā€™t go D1 that doesnā€™t make room for the rest of their athletic career to fall down the drain. And often I think itā€™s a better opportunity for some of these athletes to go to smaller schools and lower divisions because the exposure and the separation can create all the difference.

I ran into a similar scenario recently which is why I bring this topic up- I had an athlete that was so set on his D1 vision, but didnā€™t have that ā€œcareer-highā€ year. He didn't get the offers he wanted and even mentally I think that took a toll on his work ethic.

But I say this all the time.. Randy Moss went to MARSHALL. He went to Marshall because no one else wanted to take him. And look what he did! He broke records, changed the whole program up, and TORE UP the NFL! The chances of him being able to make that big of an impact and create that much buzz in another program is low.

Do you want to be a decent player at Georgia or do you want to be the Randy Moss of Marshall? Mindset matters.

Quote of the week

ā€œLife is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you react to it.ā€ ā€“ Charles Swindoll

Appreciate yā€™all,

Cici

See you again next week!

In the meantime, here are 3 ways you can stay tapped in:

1. Get access to more free game here.

2. Join a group of badass women in the More Her Speed Membership here.

Click the link below to apply 20% off your order with code CICIMURRAY. Iā€™m telling yā€™all, it has literally changed the tone for my day.