🏃‍♀️ Max Speed Exposure

Thanksgiving & thoughts on max speed runs

What’s up y’all? Cici here.

Welcome back to More Her Speed, a weekly no-BS newsletter all about women in coaching.

Thankful for a lot

This week was a great reminder to love the people that support you! 

I spent some much needed time with my family… time I’ll never get back.

I get so caught up in work that I often neglect quality time with my family and friends. Most of them understand the sacrifice, I’ve made it a goal to prioritize that time when I can.

When you have people that love and support you… you pay them back tenfold. 

I'm also thankful this year for a solid team. Creating a business is hard. Creating culture and a family within your work life is even harder but when you reach that it’s game changing. 

Speaking of the team… I’m sure you’re familiar with Les Spellman at this point.

He founded Spellman Performance and has been a big brother to me for quite some time now. 

He’s also created some courses with INSANE value. They change lives in this industry. He’s running a 50% off course for all of those rn… 

Here are the links:

Max Speed Exposure

I saw a great tweet from Tony Holler this week about training ranges and max speed exposure. Tony Holler, for anyone who isn’t familiar, started an amazing organization called Feed the Cats that focuses on low-dose speed training for most sports.

His entire thread is a great read and emphasizes our theory that athletes should be hitting at least one max speed run every 7 days. Without this exposure, the athlete may experience diminishing qualities. 

Of course, in order to run fast.. You must run fast, more often. Athletes will see an increase in a number of qualities including acceleration, max speed, and reaction time. 

The thread also mentions that hitting top speed multiple times a week can reduce risk of soft injury. 

Getting exposure to this stimulus can prepare the athlete for hitting those speeds in game when it really matters.

Quote of the Week

“If you believe in yourself and have dedication and pride – and never quit – you'll be a winner”

- Bear Bryant

Appreciate y’all,

Cici

See you again next week!

In the meantime, here are 3 ways you can stay tapped in:

1. Get access to more free game here.

2. Join a group of badass women here.