🏃‍♀️Insecurity in coaching

Back into the Swing of Things

As we kick off the spring, we start to get a new wave of sports and groups that start up training.

This week, we started training with a major soccer organization in San Diego.

And when I say major, I mean massive! They have a number of different teams, youth to senior, boys and girls.

As much as I do feel confident in myself as a coach and trainer, I still get nervous starting with new groups who may never have seen me before.

I have been fortunate enough that most new groups I work with I’ve probably trained one or two of the kids before, but that’s not always the case.

My work doesn’t change group to group, but how I approach a new group, and if they are boys or girls does.

There is somewhat of a boundary and a tone that I have to set off the bat so that they know my intentions and know what I expect.

Starting with new athletes is nerve racking, but exciting.

It’s a fresh new slate of new athletes that you have the opportunity to change their whole trajectory- and for that I’m thankful.

Insecurity

You know Speed and S&C Twitter is an inconsistent, but solid educational resource.

You definitely have to sift through some poor opinions and guys who think they’re better than you.

But I think we’ve all taken and learned a thing or two from someone or something on Twitter.

I loved this tweet thread, and Twitter in general, because you can be raw and no one is going to look at you crazy.

Well, they might. But it’s more accepted there.

The responses to this tweet were all valid- ranging from parent education, sport coach buy-in, financial gain, and more.

But one of the responses to the tweet above was “Insecurity.” And I couldn’t agree more.

I think it is a huge issue, with an even deeper solution, because almost everyone has it.

I think everyone is insecure about something and that’s ok, but in the weight-room or on the field when the main priority should be the health and wellbeing and overall success of your athletes- there is little room for insecurity.

And quite honestly, I think a lot of programs would benefit and flourish if you took away some of the insecurity of the staff and those running the program.

You see things a lot clearer when you stop taking things personally.

People aren’t thinking about us as much as we think they’re thinking about us.

And even if they are, whatever people think of us is none of our business.

Quote of the Week

“Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you’ll be able to see further.” —Thomas Carlyle

Appreciate y’all,

Cici

 

See you again next week!

In the meantime, here are 3 ways you can stay tapped in:

1. Get access to more free game here.

2. Join a group of badass women here.