• More Her Speed
  • Posts
  • 🏃‍♀️Humble beginnings, badass female spotlight, + more

🏃‍♀️Humble beginnings, badass female spotlight, + more

The value of having interns who are eager to learn

What’s up y’all? Cici here.

Welcome back to More Her Speed, a weekly no-BS newsletter all about women in coaching.

Had to Grind like that to Shine like this

Draft prep week 3 is in the books, crazy to think we’re already almost halfway done - but I am truly just happy to be here.

In the mix of the combine schedule, this is my second year doing speed training with a 7v7 football organization in Orange County twice a week.

It was raining my entire drive down, pouring the entire session, and it was one of the best sessions I have had in a long time.

Energy was high, guys were rolling, and I felt confident- which, even at this point, is not always guaranteed.

When I look back at my journey in football specifically it all started when I got asked to coach a 7v7 team at the high school I primarily worked with.

I probably only got the opportunity and thought for the position because I showed up to every high school game, multiple practices, sat in on film, and bothered every position coach I knew with questions.

Finally, one of the coaches was like “7v7 starts in 4 weeks - do you want to coach?” 

I still thought to myself I had no idea what I was doing but when I got there it all just flowed naturally.

Did the kids look at me crazy when I took the DB’s and said I’m your coach?

For sure.

Did we gradually build trust and understanding to where now they expect me in the stands at their games?

Absolutely. 

I say this to say that it's no secret that I don't have the most extensive resume for playing time or in game-experience.

But am I qualified for the job when it comes to coaching and putting athletes first? I think so.

Billy Joe Hobert and Billy Nealy- if you’re reading this.. THANK YOU! Y’all changed my life.

Badass Females 

This week, I want to switch things up a little bit. 

I want to highlight a few amazing female interns that I have been blessed to be around the last 3 weeks.

Putting women on is not about the most vetted coach or mentioning someone in the highest position at the professional level.

Putting women on is about shedding light and giving recognition to women that people might not know YET - hard workers and real grinders and women that really want this shit. 

So shout out the amazing performance interns at Sports Academy: 

Nicole Barahona- Nicole isn’t actually an intern, she is a full time trainer but has been spending most of her mornings helping us out and learning, and is one of the most attentive people I’ve ever crossed paths with.

She soaks up everything and is eager to learn and eager to help. SHE IS HER. 

Mackenzie Nevarez - This girl has three jobs and still finds time to be present, be professional, and write down EVERYTHING- and when first getting started in this field that is the most valuable skill to have.

Kassidie Baldwin - Talk about preparation - KB is there with everything needed for the field already packed up by 5 in the morning. KB teaches yoga and is very mindful and well-rounded, but her sense of urgency is unparalleled.

Marisa Goddard - I actually briefly mentioned Marissa last week when I said I ran into one of the More Her Speed members at the facility - she was so supportive and willing to learn. 

She currently plays Women's Tackle Football and has a background in neurophysiology - but wants to integrate the two and brings great perspective to the table

You ladies make my life so much simpler and thank you for working so hard- you guys are up next!

Quote of the Week

“Power means happiness; power means hard work and sacrifice.”

– Beyonce Knowles

Appreciate y’all,

Cici

See you again next week!

In the meantime, here are 3 ways you can stay tapped in:

1. Get access to more free game here.

2. Join a group of badass women here.