COMBINE IS OVER, we dropped merch, + more!

What the NFL Combine is actually like

What’s up y’all? Cici here.

Welcome back to More Her Speed, a weekly no-BS newsletter all about women in coaching.

THE COMBINE IS OVER.

APOLOGIES for being two days late on the newsletter…

The actual NFL Combine is my most stressful, but most exciting week of the year.

I run off of coffee and hotel lobby food and around 1.5 hours of sleep every night, but I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

We got there Sunday and left the following Sunday and one thing I really appreciated this year was the respect they seemed to have for trainers.

With 2021 being a COVID year without a combine and in 2022 them only telling us a few days in advance that we were allowed to attend with our athletes, this year was much different.

Every year a different clothing company or brand sponsors the Combine, gives all the guys all of their gear, and puts on in Indy.

This year it was NOBULL, and when I say they didn’t disappoint, I MEAN IT.

We were able to do all of our warmup, force plate testing, and recovery in the NOBULL center, and have the athletes get their feet on some turf rather than the convention center carpet.

*Though I do think they put some bounce in those hallways.

They had a full on training space, locker room, and recovery area for the guys to use as well as their credentialed trainers.

Not only was the gear and apparel nice, the training space was HUGE for trainers to work with their athletes as well as connect with one another.

Keep that same energy

Indy is a funny place for trainers because we're all in the same space and it’s interesting to see who supports and who hates.

Which brings me to the tweet I put out while I was there that I wouldn’t say was educational, but you can definitely read between the lines.

It isn't every day that you see a female leading top draft prospects through their workout for the most important event of their career, but the looks I got in those hallways and in that facility were hilarious.

IF YOU’RE GOING TO LOOK- SAY HI!!

Most of the faces I knew and it was amazing to connect with some of the other trainers in the business that I respect and have built a great relationship with, but there’s always going to be those ones.

More so than anything I loved how personally some people took the tweet!

I had at least 6 people come up to me after posting that saying they saw my tweet and wanted to introduce themselves.

So not only did I get a few laughs, I met people that support what I do and probably wouldn’t have come up to me otherwise.

As I’ve said before, I don’t take offense to this, nor does it change my support for any other trainer- I love seeing other trainers do their thing and I’m going to keep doing mine.

Everybody eats!!

We Dropped Merch

One last thing…

This week we launched merch at Spellman Performance for the first time EVER.

We called our training in 2021 SPEED CITY because we had so many athletes on one field every day, from different leagues / points in their journey, all there to get better and faster together.

The name stuck.

The store closed last night, but I asked the team if I could send out a password for y’all to access it today. The password is MHS and the link is spellmanperformance.shop !

(Don’t share!)

Quote of the Week

The greatest glory in living lies not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.

-Nelson Mandela

Appreciate y’all,

Cici

 

See you again next week!

In the meantime, here are 3 ways you can stay tapped in:

1. Get access to more free game here.

2. Join a group of badass women here.