• More Her Speed
  • Posts
  • 🏃‍♀️ Burnout is real... I hope this helps you avoid it!

🏃‍♀️ Burnout is real... I hope this helps you avoid it!

What I’ve been up to…

Welcome back y’all, these last 2 weeks have been LIVE. I’ve been working with three different high school football teams in the morning, I have my NFL Offseason guys back in town, and the Speed City Camp has been booming!

The continued support is amazing and I just want to thank y’all for believing in our vision. I’ve been with this same team for 3 years now and year after year I become a better coach from everything I’ve learned from every bad rep.

Burnout is real… How to avoid it!

Though picking up more consulting and training projects is a blessing, it is a lot. I am in San Diego three days a week and come back to Orange County each of those days. It is easy to get burnt out with so much time spent on the road and on the field. Especially with summer here- coaching takes A LOT out of you.

I saw a tweet from a Performance Psychologist the other day about schedule burnout and coaching and found it and the replies really relatable.

Alex put out an entire thread about his points on how he no longer experiences this burn out feeling, or when he feels like he is getting close- he knows how to manage it. One statement I loved in particular was he said ‘How do I want to remember this moment?”

He says there are often times we do things we don’t want to do because we have to, and that can often lead to this feeling of mental exhaustion and breakdown. And I agree, for the most part. I have done a lot of things I didn’t want to do because they needed to get done and I was the only one that could do it.

And maybe not the only one in the world, but I knew I could get it done and it would be correct and done the way I wanted it to be done. But I think this brings up a good point of sharing your experience and knowledge and passing that on to someone else. Not only so that they can learn, but so that you can delegate some of that responsibility and avoid burning out.

Now I have to mention, as crazy as my schedule has been- I am the most fulfilled I have ever been in my career. I am truly enjoying the work I am doing and feel that I am continuing to grow. And I think that's a really important aspect to still feel satisfied while so many things are getting thrown your way. I am the busiest I’ve ever been, and the happiest! And as I get better at my responsibilities, I feel less bogged down by them.

I hope this helps some of you, and please feel free to reach out if you want to share your experience and if I can help in any way- WE’RE ALL IN THIS SHIT TOGETHER!

LOVE!

Quote of the week

“Burnout, like any difficult experience, is a great teacher. My question is: What is it trying to tell you?” – Dr. Rebecca Ray

Appreciate y’all,

Cici

See you again next week!

In the meantime, here are 3 ways you can stay tapped in:

1. Get access to more free game here.

2. Join a group of badass women in the More Her Speed Membership here.

Click the link below to apply 20% off your order with code CICIMURRAY. I’m telling y’all, it has literally changed the tone for my day.