• More Her Speed
  • Posts
  • 🏃‍♀️ The blessing (and curse) of podcasts + some insight from another professional

🏃‍♀️ The blessing (and curse) of podcasts + some insight from another professional

The power of a team

Welcome back y’all, as most of you probably know, we keep our circle small and our coaches very tight knit. It has definitely paid off because we all speak the same language and have the same coaching beliefs, but it certainly doesn’t make it easier as we bring on new projects because there are only so many of us.

Two of our coaches work primarily in San Diego County and the other two of us in Orange County as we have business and opportunities in both areas. But this past week I was working overtime in both. And that’s not a complaint, it's a great problem to have, but we have found it so valuable when more than one of us are on the same field coaching.

We bounce off each other and learn from each other and help each other out and with all of us in different spots it’s so important for us to be together sometimes to make sure we’re all on the same page as we continue to grow and learn as coaches.

The blessing (and curse) of podcasts

I think podcasts have become a blessing and a curse. With Covid, I feel like podcasts got a huge boost as it was an easy way for professionals to exchange and connect while everyone was at home, but it can also water down certain topics and just because someone is speaking on a subject doesn’t always mean it’s a credible source.

Now I say that not to discredit podcasts because I still use them religiously to catch up on information and continue my education, but I have recently gone back and listened to older episodes and channels with trusted sources and knowledgeable guests and I think that’s important.

Especially in a profession where we are dealing with the health and success of high level athletes, there is so much information out there to filter through and see what resonates with you and your program style.

So I came across an episode on the Central VA Sports Performance Podcast with Coach Molly Binetti at the University of South Carolina. Molly actually just spoke at the PLAE conference this past weekend in Charleston and has some really valuable insight. She said something really interesting in relation to working in athletics and at what level and the path that coaches take to ultimately get to where they want to be.

Molly Binetti

She said “You have no idea how to navigate your career as a performance professional and what it could look like. You’re taught “this is right” and all the other things are subpar options.” She mentions that she wished she knew what to spend her time on when she started out. Of course you have to have a solid foundation and know how to write a program, but no one actually teaches you how to do your job.

I love this because that’s exactly why I started this newsletter and why I started More Her Speed. For female coaches specifically, I had no one to turn to or reach out to or get guidance about this field and what was going to come with it before I went all in on it. And at that point I was already inside the fire and had to find my way through.

Working with people and the relationships we build are the hardest, and most important part of this job.

“I had to work on myself as a coach, and not just a strength coach.

Quote of the week

“If you fail to prepare, you’re prepared to fail.” – Mark Spitz

Appreciate y’all,

Cici

See you again next week!

In the meantime, here are 3 ways you can stay tapped in:

1. Get access to more free game here.

2. Join a group of badass women in the More Her Speed Membership here.

Click the link below to apply 20% off your order with code CICIMURRAY. I’m telling y’all, it has literally changed the tone for my day.